Hypertension 

on

High systolic pressure, 

high diastolic pressure, 

I got to know in the hospital, 

I got to know in the clinic, 

I got to know at a free medical check up, 

I thought it was a lie, 

I thought it was for just that time, 

The time I thought longer and deeply 

I thought it would go like any other disease, 

The doctor said it would last forever till I die, 

But I believed in prayers and my pastor, 

I kept on drinking like before, 

I kept eating spicy meals with lots of salt, 

I still remained overweight, 

I only took my drugs when I checked my blood pressure and it was high, 

I avoided the hospital like a plague, 

Then one night I noticed I got tired easily, 

Gradually I could not lie flat on my back, 

Soon I had to sleep with two then three then four pillows, 

Soon I had to wake up at night to catch breaths, 

I woke up sweating at night, 

I looked like a nightmare, 

But it was real, 

I had congestive cardiac failure, 

My heart could not cope, 

Because I believed it would go and did not take my drugs daily and adequately, 

I also did not go for check up. 

Congestive cardiac failure caused by hypertension is one of the leading causes of death in Africa

Get checked today!! 

Take your drugs regularly. 

Leave a Reply

